Allsorts of Stuff

Kingdoms of Camelot on Facebook

Hi,

I just thought I’d blog a bit about Kingdoms of Camelot, an application on Facebook that I have been using, or rather a game that I have been playing. I am currently doing ok on it, rising slowly up in the world. I have a confession to make though this is a game that has taken over my life just a little bit. I try to play it or check up on things every day, mostly I manage this unless I have some work to do or some people to see.

Reason I thought I should blog about it is to just let people know this a nice little application, its basically real time strategy, building your little kingdom up, you can on the face of it have two cities. I have two now, don’t particularly think it was properly thought through though, my new city is not protected like the other one probably because in theory you can transport troops to defend your new city, but in my eyes its pointless having troops defend your city as the attackers always have at least several hundred troops more than you, maybe even thousands. It is annoying when you get attacked several times in a few days and don’t have any money to build your army, upgrade things to defend against these people.

The other problem with this game though is the gems, there is no way of getting gems in the game so far other than spending real money, meaning a little facebook application wants you to spend money on free games, again not a big fan of paying for applications or extra features, kind of hate the temptation being in my face too, I won’t do it so don’t wave it in my face that I can’t have it. Don’t give us 10 measley gems either cos they can’t buy anything decent and its probably fixed so that you can’t win anything worthwhile on that box game to win stuff.

The concept is pretty awesome, again the building times are annoying meaning the game takes over your life a bit. Also this combines with the lack of ability to get gems, my suggestion would be to be able to steal them from people or barbarians or get them when doing court activities. I shall continue playing on, see what the rest of the game brings.

An application worth a look if you like building and empire type games, or even just want something to take up ages in your life. By the way you don’t have to take up all your time, you can just play it every week or month or anything, just don’t expect to do much on it!

6 responses

  1. Nice post 🙂

    Thanks for sharing

    February 6, 2010 at 5:24 pm

  2. John Adams

    I love this game also!! I’m kinda addicted. I’ve got 6 of my buddies playing it with me, and that’s when I got hooked.

    February 6, 2010 at 10:28 pm

  3. ZIgzagz

    I hear ya! This game is taking over my life – but it sure beats the other games on FB by a long shot! These “time” games like Cafe World, Farmville and the like all take..well, time, and there is rewards of nice little “things”…but the difference with KOC is that there is a more complex strategy to bulding things and damn, its just more fun! I hope it continues to be so once I get pummelled! lol
    Thanks for sharing

    February 16, 2010 at 7:19 pm

  4. Zeph

    Tried a little experiment…created 6 accounts and built an alliance…a bit tough managing all the details with multiple browsers running, but this way I never have to sit and wait too long to be able to do something…there’s always building or training to do at one or another of the cities. This may change as they all move up in rank and the times get longer…my lords/ladies currently range from 44 (Knight of Camelot) to 9 (Baronet). All in all it’s a really good game…it’s a lot like Evony (another free castles & armies game) that’s not on Facebook.

    February 18, 2010 at 9:21 pm

  5. cipher

    ADD MEE!Amazing!!
    I just got a big pile of Resources and 210 gems, so have over 52,488 people, get yours Now!!! MY GOD IM THE BIGGEST KING IN GINDOM OF CAMELOT!! 😀 Go to: http://kingdom-of-camelot-treasuryy.blogspot.com/

    November 18, 2010 at 12:39 pm

  6. Pingback: 2010 in review « DJ Pixcs Blog

Leave a Reply

