Allsorts of Stuff

Gladiator 2 VST – Tutorial – Wobble Bass

Right guys,

I just bought Gladiator 2, an amazing VST with lots of power. I used it a while back, but the illegitmate copy wrecked my friends laptop, so after a while of pondering what to spend my birthday money on, I decided I would buy this beast! Anyway I thought I’d experiment with wobble bass sounds.

Before I start I would like to give some credit to the following youtube videos. I looked at a few to get the basic idea, then tried to figure out the LFO’s and possible options for this tutorial.

Also

This is also allowing mac and pc users to both get a little something from what research I used. I found the diagram useful to help me think about how the sound is created.

So onwards to the tutorial, basically this is Gladiator 2

In order to start this tutorial, please clear the preset in use, usually the welcome preset as default. First of all you need to pick some waveforms for the 1 and 2 oscillators. I decided to pick WV Sine and WV Comb but you can play around with allsorts, It took me a while to get to that choice myself.

As you can see the next thing you need to look at is the modifiers, that change/morph the waveforms and display the image in the screen below. You can fiddle around with the settings, the speed, the start point the morphmodes, these will all make for varied and interesting sounds so do experiment with them.

I have adjusted the octave at the bottom to get a lower sound, which is ideal for the dubstep wobble bass. Again tweak to your ears.

Next we need to look at the LFO, a wobble bass needs this to wobble. I have decided to use the triangle wobble, it is by no means perfect and to be honest my skills with gladiator are only in their early stages so I do feel I need to explore this more but I have BPM synced it by turning on the light and rectified which I think just helps refine the sound sometimes. You can alter the speed as you would like it.

So with the LFO set up, you will notice no difference to the sound the wobble isn’t happening, well first we have to route the synth to use this wobble. So first of all go to the bottom right and set the source as LFO1 followed by destination as the cutoff filter. Then adjust the knob to where you think it should be or follow my guide below.

This then will mean all that is left to do to setup this patch, is to add your filter in. I myself have gone for a LP 30DB FAT filter, mainly because the tutorials in other synths seem to go for 24DB and the fat sort of swung me.

Tweak around with the settings and I hope this helps someone out!

I would love to hear any bass sounds that people have made using this tutorial. Feel free to drop a comment.

6 responses

  1. nice thanks

    September 30, 2011 at 5:15 pm

  2. smittty

    can you post a preset, mine wont let me get down to the bottom to adjust the filter

    January 6, 2012 at 6:20 am

    • djpixc

      I’ll give it a go mate but I ain’t sure it would help if you can’t alter the preset yourself once you have it

      January 9, 2012 at 12:56 am

  3. I am regular visitor, how are you everybody? This article posted at this web
    page is truly good.

    April 10, 2013 at 4:17 am

  4. Garren

    hi! it’s been weirdly hard to find good concise tutorials on this synth, so thank you for this. it got me from just starting at the GUI and scratching my head to actually understanding the parameter functions. I’ve been able to make some interesting sounds! your work is appreciated!

    October 30, 2013 at 9:15 am

  5. Awesome article.

    March 29, 2014 at 9:40 pm

Leave a Reply

