Allsorts of Stuff

What is love?

I was asked today if I knew what love was, more to the point it was surmised that I do not have a clue. Well my reply was simple, I’m not so naive to think that I know exactly what love is or to have experienced it fully at the age of 24. I have felt like I was in love, more than likely probably in lust several times, I feel love is too varied and complex to be described and understood and such a young age or from so little experience.

I have a friend, who I thought I was in love with, but when I see that friend now, she just makes me happy being around her, I don’t want to do anything with her, I couldn’t see myself dating her, although I’d go to the pub with her as often as I could afford if possible. I see this as love, but love for a friend, I think this I experience all the time, I have a lot of love to give and if someone gives their time for me and holds me in high regard, I tend to have a lot of time for them. Whether that be just through phone calls or texts, online chat or meeting up  or inviting them round.

When it comes to relationships, I’m not experienced, I’ll openly admit I have had 1 girlfriend that most would class as a relationship, one other I would add, making the grand total of two. I have seen friends go through countless break ups and make ups with lots of different girlfriends and boyfriends, I just don’t understand how they do it.  I don’t think I have ever been in love, I think you only realise this later on in life though, once you have left it all behind. I also have come to believe that love is created by shared memories and spending time with the other person. It comes over time, when things go well for a long period, you make the effort to make this happen but ultimately no person has one person destined for them. You have a pool of compatible people that would suit you and it depends on your own and their choices in life and the path you take as to who ends up being the one you spend most of your time with.

I met a girl on the internet and planned to go see her had it all worked out, it failed, I never made it to see her, we don’t talk anymore. I was young I thought it was real, I felt it. I still feel it now. I’m not so naive anymore, I know you need to physically spend time with someone to know it is going to work, but to cut a long story short meeting someone online can start something special, but it cannot sustain it. You have to follow through. Dangerous as it can sometimes seem, if you don’t try you’ll never know.

In short love is a strange emotion, or state of mind brought about by developing a strong bond with someone you spend a lot of time with. In my opinion there are too many kinds of love to ever be too strict on the boundaries and limits of it. It is hard thing to deny once born too.

Leave a Reply

