Allsorts of Stuff

Black Ops – Escalation Map Pack

Hey guys,

I just bought my first Black Ops map pack monday night, I had seen video’s on Escalation and decided to pick this one for the purchase, it was also cheaper than the others at £10.50. I don’t agree with the price, I know the developers put a lot of time into these maps and they should be paid for, but £10 for a few maps, is a little overpriced, I’d gladly pay a £5 for each map pack but not £12 which is roughly what they ask most of the time. Yeah I bought it, but I did it because I wanted some new maps and well Hotel and Zoo were both solid ideas, I’m like 90% of the COD population, I just want variety and more maps, its not because it’s the right price, it’s because we have no choice, not like anyone listens and brings the price down is it, they just bring a new game out and wait until everyone has moved on before doing so.

Anyway I thought I’d let people know what I thought of the maps, first of all I am not an avid COD addict, I play it a fair bit, but I play it because some of my friends are big on it and well its a multiplayer game we can enjoy together on gaming night. I ain’t amazing at it, a few of my pet hates with COD are Snipers, Campers and Wide Open Spaces.

So Hotel was first up, I’d seen it in video’s and me and my friend was really looking forward to playing it, I tried it with bots on my own monday night, I love it. The pool area is pretty cool, I get killed a lot more on these new maps but I’ll wait til I’ve been playing them a while before I judge that. The detail is good, the shower area seems to have some potential for some nice little battles, the elevator is a nice addition, not too fussed about it but a lot of people will like it am sure. Hotel doesn’t have too much wide open spaces, there are a few long corridor type areas that sometimes annoy me when bots clearly are too good at being on target, but thats another thing altogether. I found a shortcut which I thought was cool, not sure if it will cause problems online yet though.

Next I tried Convoy, I had seen videos online of this and noted at first I couldn’t find the diner, it seems like a big version of nuketown, maybe with some extra detail. The first interesting point I found was a bottle neck style trailer hideout, it isn’t ideal as people can sneak up from behind but its good fun for a few kills. I’m still learning to like this one, I don’t know why there is a lot of everything in here, maybe a little too open in places, but maybe I just suck.

I then tried Zoo, I much preferred this map to Convoy, it looked pretty unique, a few nice corridor spots, some good vantage points for snipers may have me cursing online but my friend commented tonight that it just flows really well, you can float around the map easily. I kind of agree, maybe thats why I like it, I think I died often on this map due to often being attacked from three different directions, but that could be my impatience and run and gun style.

I lastly got my teeth into Stockpile, this map was by far my worst map of this pack. It didn’t get me excited at all with its look, its not much different to any previous similar map. It had too many wide open spaces and I didn’t want to play it again. It seems this one might not be for the run and gunner, it is for snipers though, I cannot see me warming to this map at all.

Overall, this collection was still worth it 3/4 maps would be played again and again. The novelty value may wear off for Convoy and Stockpile will struggle to get played, but I’m not going to let that ruin my time on the others.

Escalation – 7/10

I’d probably have preferred to pay no more than £7 for this map pack, I loved Zoo and Hotel, Convoy so far is growing on me and Stockpile is really not my thing at all.

4 responses

  1. I agree they are far too expensive but I guess they do it because they know that they can get away with it and charge that high amount and people will still hit that purchase button because they have no choice

    November 2, 2011 at 9:37 am

  2. Zoo is my favourite 🙂 but there are a lot to choose from now!

    November 2, 2011 at 3:31 pm

  3. An fascinating discussion is worth comment. I believe that you should write more on this topic, it won’t be a taboo subject but usually individuals are not enough to talk on such topics. To the next. Cheers

    November 11, 2011 at 1:40 am

  4. mw3

    It’s onerous to find knowledgeable individuals on this subject, however you sound like you know what you’re talking about! Thanks

    November 26, 2011 at 1:54 am

Leave a Reply

