Allsorts of Stuff

Thinking of Learning an Instrument

Ok so, I watched this recently and decided I wanted to learn an instrument . .. … .

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aHjpOzsQ9YI

I make dubstep and feel I’d love to play the violin, now I tried to learn guitar many years ago, lets say 6 – 8 years ago, I’m now 25 and think well I want to add something to my skills, I like the sound of the violin in these and more dubstep pieces and as I make the stuff would think it would be logical for me to learn it. I am a bit wary however as most people say the violin a hard instrument to learn. I got recommended that I learn Cello, I am not sure whether this would be something I’d like to learn so I’m going to listen to some pieces and see what I think. I was also asked why I don’t learn saxaphone or a brass instrument, trumpet or trombone, possibly even oboe, not sure why but I ruled out saxaphone because a friend plays it and I’m not sure I have the puff.

I’d love to know what people think, I’m ruling out keyboard/piano as I have my little midi controller keyboard and i can dabble when I feel like it. My budget is very limited at around £150, I’d prefer to spend a little less but I’ve seen two different models of violin that I could go for. The Stagg Electric Violin and the Cecelio Electric, I would always go for an electric instrument and this is another reason why brass instruments seem a little far off for me, anyway I’d be open to some comments about what to do, I’m a little unsure about the violin being hard because a lot of people say go for an instrument because you want to learn it and not because it is easiest.

Thanks,

Pixc

2 responses

  1. Cellos are not cheap, but they offer a deeper tone, not to mention you get to sit down and wrap your legs around it!
    I love the violen. I mainly play guitar but can pick up a violen and make it sing. It’s fun to slide down the strings, and make resonant etches with the bow. You’ll get a feel for it after a while. Maybe check around for a used one, and just put some new strings on it and get a new bow.

    August 14, 2012 at 11:04 pm

  2. Helen

    You need to make the choice in the end, not others. I play the violin, second instrument after the piano, but not electric. The violin’s difficulty lies in the ability of the performer to determine pitch, and the ability to control the bow. For any instrument that you are want to learn, and you are determined to learn, (and will not be put of by days when you don’t seem to make any progress), then you will succeed in that instrument, despite its difficulty. Choose the instrument that you like the sound of, and don’t be frightened off by others saying it is difficult. Then you will succeed! 🙂

    August 15, 2012 at 11:13 am

Leave a Reply

