Allsorts of Stuff

The Division – worth it?

So, I wanted to give my thoughts on The Division, the new game from Ubisoft that has hit the scene recently, I have been playing it since release, I am not yet as I start this max level, have done a bit of everything I think though. I would first like to draw some comparisons to give people a good idea of what this is.

Diablo with guns, yes the loot system and crafting tied in seems to remind me a lot of diablo, it doesn’t feel anywhere near as expansive as Diablo but maybe in time it it will grow. The next one is Saints Row, yeah weird I know but the side missions, most notably finding agents, collecting incident reports etc are all feeling in this game almost as fun as saints row games, as with any game like this it will get boring and repetitive eventually but it is somewhat refreshing at present. Next is the obvious Destiny, it feels like it has done a better job than Destiny, as from launch there is enough content, the story/single player experience takes you longer, it also has that annoying much better with friends attitude but unfortunately restricts players in the dark zone playing with each other. trying to find a balance that is often so elusive.

There are more but I will stop but for these honourable mentions, am sure you can figure out why I chose them, Dying Light and Borderlands.

So the meat of the game is there is a pandemic, virus that has caused some serious problems, it has got so bad, the agents, you that is have to go in and help take the city back from rioters, in essence the bandits or bad guys of the situation, or are they? I haven’t found out the whole story yet, but my guess is something isn’t 100% right on that front. So the single player game is largely repetitive encounters, three differing types, medical, tech and security, to gain supplies for the three wings to rebuild the HQ or base. There are missions that gain more supplies than the encounters too. Added to this you build your arsenal of weapons, armour and talents up and become more powerful, a standard coloured loot system is in place to grade this. You can craft items, when you get blueprints for them from missions or completing a number of sidequests in an area too.

The AI is something I have to mention, so let’s get to that. only hit points can make me harder, is the tactic employed in this game, followed by rush you to death, I really despise the way games, especially shooters make the enemies harder by purely ramping up the hit points, but then when you over level for that enemy it seems to have little effect, bullet sponging is not my friend, nor is it any developers, except I suppose for one that caters to heavily sedated generational grinding queens. I loved Borderlands but this can get super tedious because the loot is too realistic and boring. So yeah the AI is bum rush central. I will concede upon diving into the subways in the dark zone for the first time with a friend, yeah just two of us. I had a blast, running back out as three gold enemies and a purple ran towards us chasing us, then more blocked our exit, we died needless to say, not there but on our way to an extraction zone as more enemies flooded in from all directions, another tactic, overbearing numbers, again if we had better loot this might be ok.

Don’t let me totally put you off the game completely mind, it is packed with humorous little bits of dialogue and it is kind of fun at least for now.

So the new update drops and yet again a developer restricts the player by nerfing enemy drops or reducing credit gains or loot drops, it is basically pointless, who is complaining about extra credits or loot? More stuff to kill?

Seriously though any time I get purple loot I am bombarded with several enemies from loads of different directions, all bumrushing me in the darkzone, seriously, why? This is not fun? Your own loot when dropped due to death, can be picked up by anyone, there is no label that it is yours, so even people in your own squad can pick it up and will not know that it was yours. This means as I found out recently, you pick up a cool item, die they can’t revive you because there are waves of enemies coming from all directions, then they kill those and while you don’t make it back pick up said item. I just wish Ubisoft understood the “looter shooter” genre, it is about fun, cool loot and farming, not fighting waves of enemies with bum rush tactics and masses of hitpoints. unless you can combat that with better loot it really is frustrating and pointless.

Case and point, nerf the game to oblivion Ubisoft it still will not hide that you have failed to impress this guy at least. All I wanted was cool loot and this  is boring. Balance is hard to find but bullet sponging enemies and waves of never ending batsmen, created my disappointment of 2016. Shame I already shelled out for the season pass.

Leave a Reply

